Maths Summit

27 March 2024

The Maths Summit was a great opportunity to discuss and champion the importance of the mathematical sciences to the UK.

Jeremy Benson, Deputy Director for the Department of Education (left), speaking with Dr Christie Marr, Executive Director for AcadMathSci (right)

The first ever Maths Summit (of which AcadMathSci was a supporter) was held at the Science Museum on Tuesday 12 March. It brought together leaders from academia, industry, education and politics, to explore how the mathematical sciences can support research, innovation, and prosperity. There was strong engagement with policymakers and industry around the importance of mathematics and its power to change society for the better. AcadMathSci was at the heart of the event.

The event was hosted by Dr Anne-Marie Imafidon MBE, Co-founder and CEO of Stemettes. The packed agenda included a keynote speech by the Rt Honourable Michelle Donelan MP, Secretary of State for Science Innovation and Technology. Sir Martin Taylor FRS chaired a fascinating discussion on equipping young people to build and benefit from the increasingly mathematical world with panelists including Catherine McKinnell MP, Shadow Schools Minister and Professor Catherine Hobbs, Chair of AcadMathSci Policy Workstream and Lead Organiser of the Summit.

The Maths Summit was organised by Protect Pure Maths and supported by the Academy for the Mathematical Sciences, the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, the Edinburgh Mathematical Society, the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, the London Mathematical Society, the Royal Statistical Society and the Operational Research Society.

Speakers and panellists included: 

  • Dr Steve Brierley OBE, Chief Executive, Riverlane
  • Professor Charlotte Deane MBE, Executive Chair, EPSRC
  • Professor Sir Ian Diamond FRSE, National Statistician, UK Government Statistical Service
  • Sir Andrew Dilnot CBE, Nuffield College, Oxford
  • Rt Hon Michelle Donelan MP, Secretary of State for Science, Innovation and Technology
  • Pamela Dow, COO, Civic Future and Former Founding Executive Director, Government Skills Campus and Leadership College
  • Professor Alison Etheridge OBE FRS, Chair, Council for Mathematical Sciences and Observing Member, AcadMathSci Executive Committee
  • Katherine Fidler, Science and Technology Editor, Metro
  • George Freeman MP, former Science Minister
  • Professor Julia Gog OBE, Professor of Mathematical Biology, University of Cambridge
  • Lucy-Marie Hagues, CEO, Capital One UK
  • Professor Catherine Hobbs, Chair, Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research, and Chair, AcadMathSci Policy Workstream
  • Anne Keast-Butler, Director, GCHQ
  • Catherine McKinnell MP, Shadow Schools Minister
  • Bobby Seagull, Mathematics Teacher, Broadcaster and Writer
  • Professor Emily Shuckburgh OBE, Director, Cambridge Zero
  • Dr Simon Singh MBE, science author and Zeeman Medallist
  • Dr Katie Steckles, maths communicator
  • Piers Stobbs, VP Science, Deliveroo
  • Sir Martin Taylor FRS, Chair, Royal Society ACME
  • David Thomas OBE, CEO, Axiom Maths
  • Professor Charlotte Watts CMG FMedSci, Chief Scientific Adviser, Director for Research and Evidence, UK FCDO
  • Tom Whipple, Science Editor, The Times