Annex B - Executive Committee

AcadMathSci Consultation Document

Annex B: The Academy’s Executive Committee

The Executive Committee for this set-up phase of the Academy was appointed by a Nominations Committee, proposed by the Council for the Mathematical Sciences (CMS) Board. The Call for Nominations was advertised and shared more widely, including through the five learned societies, the Joint Mathematical Council of the United Kingdom (JMC) and HoDoMs (Heads of [University] Departments of Mathematical Sciences). The extent of interest, and the range and quality of the nominations demonstrated the strong cross-community appetite for the Academy.

The Committee includes a broad range of representatives from academia, industry and education, and includes past Presidents of all the Mathematical Societies represented by the Council for the Mathematical Sciences (CMS). The Committee members are:

  • Nigel Campbell (Chair)
  • Dr Christie Marr (Executive Director)
  • Professor Rachel Bearon
  • Dr Sophie Carr
  • Professor Nira Chamberlain OBE
  • Professor Tom Coates
  • Professor Christine Currie
  • Professor Ineke de Moortel FRSE
  • Professor Cathy Hobbs
  • Ruth Kaufman OBE
  • Professor Sara Lombardo
  • Professor Terry Lyons FLSW FRSE FRS
  • Dame Jil Matheson
  • Lynne McClure OBE
  • Professor Sir Bernard Silverman FRS
  • Simon Yun-Farmbrough
  • Rachael Harris (ex Officio, to ensure the Knowledge Exchange Hub is represented)
  • Professor Alison Etheridge OBE FRS (Observer)

Further information including their biographies can be found here


Advisory Board

The proto-Academy’s work is being supported, challenged and enhanced by an Advisory Board. The extent of interest and outstanding range and quality of nominees for the Executive Committee showed a clear demonstration of the cross-community appetite for the Academy. Many nominees for the Executive Committee were asked to be members of the Advisory Board. Further people have since been added to workstreams and we have an ongoing process to ensure that the members of each workstream represent the full range of our communities: this has been and is overseen by the proto-Academy’s People Committee.

The full list of Advisory Board members and their biographies is available here. Our Advisory Board is not yet fully representative of our mathematical sciences communities and we anticipate further updates to its membership to fill gaps and ensure diversity of representation. Both the proto-Academy as a whole and individual workstreams will consult with wider communities in order to ensure a secure basis on which to build our work.