Governance Structure

Executive Committee and Executive Director

The names of the Executive Committee, and their biographies, can be found here. The Committee includes a broad range of representatives from academia, industry and education, and includes past Presidents of all the Mathematical Societies represented by the Council for the Mathematical Sciences (CMS).

The Executive Committee is chaired by Nigel Campbell and Dr Christie Marr is the Executive Director of the proto-Academy. CMS Chair, Professor Alison Etheridge, is part of the Committee as an Observer.


The substantial task of progressing matters so that the Academy is ready to launch during or before the first half of 2025 will be delivered through a number of workstreams, each led by a member of the Executive Committee. The workstreams being taken forward – and the members of the Executive Committee leading on each – are as follows.

  1. Academic affairs, especially matters relating to teaching and research in the Mathematical Sciences in UK Universities.
    Bernard Silverman is lead for this workstream.
  2. Business, Industry & Government (BIG) workstream ensuring that the views and needs of practitioners and innovators working in Mathematical Sciences are incorporated into the Acad Math Sci.
    Heather Tewkesbury is lead for this workstream.
  3. Education, working in partnership with others engaged in mathematics education 3-16, post 16 education including apprenticeships, undergraduate mathematics, and numeracy in the general population.
    Lynne McClure is lead for this workstream.
  4. EDI (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion).
    Sara Lombardo is lead for this workstream.
  5. Development and Finance including fundraising.
    Simon Yun-Farmbrough is lead for this workstream.
  6. Early Career Mathematical Scientists (ECMS).
    Tom Coates is lead for this workstream.
  7. Governance and Fellowship establishing a robust governance structure including overseeing the drafting of the constitution and registration as a CIO in 2023, drafting rules, committee structure and relevant terms of reference; proposing a Fellowship model and associated processes and documentation.
    Ruth Kaufman is lead for this workstream.
  8. Communications and Advocacy for the mathematical sciences, for the academy itself, and for the set-up phase.
    Rachel Bearon is lead for this workstream.
  9. Policy.
    Cathy Hobbs is lead for this workstream.

In addition, there are two overarching workstreams. These will both draw on and influence the work of the above workstreams:

  1. Strategy, including Vision and Purpose; and what the Academy should do and focus on and what it should not, and how that varies with the scale of funds raised.
  2. Planning, including developing – and then seeing through – an actionable plan.

A list of the leads and members of each workstream can be found here.

Advisory Board

The proto-Academy’s work will be supported, challenged and enhanced by an Advisory Board. The extent of interest and outstanding range and quality of nominees for the Executive Committee showed a clear demonstration of the cross-community appetite for the Academy. Many nominees for the Executive Committee were asked to be members of the Advisory Board. Further people have since been added to workstreams and we have an ongoing process to ensure that the members of each workstream represent the full range of our communities: this has been and is overseen by the proto-Academy’s People Committee.

We are aware that our Advisory Board is not yet fully representative of our mathematical sciences communities and we anticipate further updates to its membership to fill gaps and ensure diversity of representation. Both the proto-Academy as a whole and individual workstreams will consult with wider communities in order to ensure a secure basis on which to build our work.

The full list of Advisory Board members and their biographies is available here.